Mobile Manual

Scan to Sync

When you create a new folder secret, a QR code is generated. You can scan or share this QR code to easily sync files between mobile devices.

You can scan to sync folders between your desktop and mobile device. From your desktop, select a folder you'd like to sync and click the 'Connect Mobile' button. The QR code will be displayed. To sync your desktop folder to your mobile device, just scan the QR code using BitTorrent Sync on your smartphone.

 

Mobile backup

BitTorrent Sync lets you backup folders and files (on Android) and your entire Camera Roll (on iOS and Windows Phone).

Backup folders aren’t connected via QR codes, so you’ll need to enter the secret key manually. To make the process easier, you can e-mail it from the application, or copy the key and send it via an application of your choice. To set up and start backup:


On Android

  1. Tap the Add Folder icon in the Backup tab.
  2. Choose a folder you want to backup.
  3. You’ll get a secret key. Enter your key on another device (ie. desktop) to start backup.

You can add more than one backup folder at any time. The files deleted on your mobile will be moved to 'SyncArchive' on the backup device (files are only kept in SyncArchive for 30 days).




On iOS

  1. On the Backup tab, tap Backup Camera Roll.
  2. Email the backup secret to yourself and enter it on the device you want to use for backup.
  3. You can configure or disable backup later, by going to Settings.

When backing up a folder, no changes from other devices will impact your files, and new files added to the chosen mobile folders will be automatically uploaded. You can access the secret key at any time by tapping the Backup folder on your mobile device.




On Windows Phone

  1. Tap the Backup tile in Sync view and confirm that you want to enable backup.
  2. Send the backup secret to yourself and enter in on your computer to start backup.
  3. If you don’t want to enable backup at first use, you can do it later by tapping the ‘Plus’ button.

When backing up a folder, no changes from other devices will impact your files, and new files added to the chosen mobile folders will be automatically uploaded. You can access the secret key at any time by tapping the Backup folder on your mobile device.




 

Permissions

BitTorrent Sync will require the following permissions to be installed on your Android-powered device:

  • Full network access - allows the app to download sync data to your phone and upload it to other devices connected by your secret key. BitTorrent Inc. does not see or store any of your personal information.
  • View network connections - allows the app to see information about network connections, such as existing and connected networks.
  • View Wi-Fi connections - allows the app to access information about WiFi networking: whether or not WiFi is enabled, and the names of connected WiFi devices.
  • Modify or delete the contents of your USB storage - allows the app to write the files you downloaded to the USB storage, and apply changes to these files.
  • Test access to protected storage - allows the app to test a permission for USB storage that will be available on future devices.
  • Take pictures and videos - allows Sync to connect to other devices. BitTorrent Sync uses the camera feature to scan QR codes.
  • Accounts - allows the app to find accounts on your device. This is required to enable you to send feedback and other information from the application to our team of developers. The application will also ask permission to access your camera for scanning QR codes, as well as to access network connection and storage in order to download and store files on your phone and SD card.

We recommend that you use a tracker server instead of DHT for reasons of faster response and NAT traversal, so peers have a higher probability of networking directly.