The New De La Soul Vinyl is Out. But You’ll Have to Dig for It.

BitTorrent fans are the first invited to dig for secret Smell The Da.I.S.Y. Dilla instrumentals.

De La Soul’s Smell The Da.I.S.Y. Bundle, released on March 26th, is an audiovisual tribute to the world of influential producer J Dilla.

Jay Dee was De La Soul’s producer. He was also their muse: “the springboard; the sound that generates inspiration.” The group has said at shows that the reason they haven’t done a new album recently is because Dilla’s not around. But he left enough artillery to do something amazing. And it’s out there.

“The reason we choose to release an all-instrumental version of Smell The Da.I.S.Y. is to give people the experience of a J Dilla beat tape that we were so lucky to receive. These beat tapes were the springboard that generated creation and inspiration for us.”
Dave Jolicoeur, De La Soul

On April 18th, 100 copies of Smell the Da.I.S.Y.’s instrumentals will pop up as vinyls, hidden in record stores across the US, UK, and Canada. The records are designed to resemble the original tapes Dilla would send to A Tribe Called Quest, The Roots, Talib Kweli, Mos Def, De La Soul, and more. And they’re designed to bring us back to the pre-digital days of production: a world where the best beats were something earned, tactile and thumbed-over. This is Dilla’s world. And BitTorrent listeners: you’re invited to dig in.

“The best part about this release is that nobody will know exactly where it is.”
Brandon Hixon, Marketing Director, De La Soul

If you’ve downloaded the De La Soul Bundle, you get early access to clues. Check your inbox, or head over to De La Soul will also be auctioning off a few autographed copies on eBay, with all proceeds going to J Dilla’s family. Happy digging.

dillarecord copy

Smell the Da.I.S.Y.: Instrumentals

Side A
01. Let The King Ascend
02. Who
03. Dilla Plugged In
04. Goes The Word
05. Vocabulary Spills
06. The Pitch

Side B
07. Taking The Train
08. Leave Your Cares Behind
09. O’Shut Up
10. No More No Less
11. Marvin Jaye
12. ??? (Unreleased) “You’re Welcome”

Get the BitTorrent Bundle

About BitTorrent Bundle

BitTorrent Bundle is an Alpha project, made with and for the web’s creative community. Our mission is to help artists connect directly with fans, inside the content they share.

Each BitTorrent Bundle, like this one, created in partnership with De La Soul, allows artists to distribute content directly to the Internet. And each Bundle comes with a key. Fans can unlock artist content with an email address. The idea is to make each song a storefront, and each file more valuable, each time it’s shared. Got ideas for the next BitTorrent Bundle? Hit us up.

Your device isn’t compatible with BitTorrent Web for Windows.

Would you like to download BitTorrent Web for Windows?


[No, please let me continue from this page.]